Charged with Rape in Springfield?
Springfield Sex Crime Defense Attorney
One of the most serious
sex crime charges that a person can face is that of rape. In the Missouri Revised
Statutes, rape is divided into two degrees. Second-degree rape is a class
C felony. First-degree rape is a felony punishable by 5 years to life
Penalties for Rape in Missouri
Rape in the second degree is defined in M.R.S. § 566.031 as "sexual intercourse with another
person knowing that he or she does so without that person's consent."
As a class C felony, second-degree rape has the following penalties:
- Fine of up to $5,000;
- Prison sentence of up to 7 years; or
- Both such fine and imprisonment
Rape in the first degree is defined in M.R.S. § 566.030 as "sexual intercourse with another
person who is incapacitated, incapable of consent, or lacks the capacity
to consent, or by the use of forcible compulsion." Forcible compulsion
includes the use of a drug or other substance without the victim's
knowledge, such a "roofie" or other
date rape drug. This offense is punishable by
5 years to life in prison.
Retain a Springfield Rape Attorney Today
Worsham Law Firm strives to provide effective criminal defense representation for all
criminal charges, from sex crimes to
DWI. No matter how serious your charges are, such as rape or sexual abuse,
the firm's legal team has what it takes to defend you. If convicted
of a sex crime such as rape, you will be required to register as a sex
offender for the rest of your life. Your conviction and personal information
will be available to the public at all times. You will also be unable
to live near a school, daycare, or other location where children regularly
Contact the firm as soon as possible at (417) 658-4172 to discuss your defense!