Statutory Rape Lawyer in Springfield
Have you been arrested for statutory rape?
In the state of Missouri, it is illegal for:
- Someone who is 21 or older to have sexual intercourse with a person who is less than 17 years old; or
- Anyone to have sexual intercourse with someone who is less than 14 years old
This crime is known as "statutory rape," regardless of consent. Anyone who is 17 or younger is considered to be incapable of giving legal consent for sex.
Penalties for Statutory Rape in Missouri
Statutory rape can be committed in one of two degrees. Second-degree statutory rape is when a person age 21 or older has sex with someone who is younger than 17. Statutory rape in the second degree is a class C felony and the penalties are as follows:
- Fine of up to $5,000;
- Prison sentence of up to 7 years; or
- Both such fine and imprisonment
Statutory rape in the first degree is a felony and will result in up to 5 or 10 years in prison, or a
life sentence, depending on the age of the victim and whether or not there were aggravating circumstances, such as serious physical injury or the display of a deadly weapon.
Hire a Springfield Sex Crime Attorney
Do not wait another minute to hire a Springfield sex crime lawyer if you are facing charges – or even just accusations – of statutory rape. These are some of the most serious
sex crime charges that a person can face. If convicted, you will face lifetime sex offender registration on top of fines and time in prison, which limits where you can live and makes your conviction and personal information available to the general public.
Contact Worsham Law Firm today at (417) 658-4172 to discuss your defense with a seasoned criminal lawyer!